New Year and New Beginnings

Hi all,

You haven’t been hearing much from me lately as my pack and I have been out enjoying the great outdoors every chance we get, winter is a great season for outdoor activities and my dogs LOVE it. Cold weather just means you can run more and dive into snowbanks when you over heat! I hope you’ve all had a great New Years celebration and took some time off to relax and spend time with your family and pets.

There are some pretty big things happening this year at the LGraveline Photography headquarters. Here are a few of the big ones:

1. LIGHTS! We finally have portable lights and I can now easily do studio portraits in your own home (can we say cats anyone?). As always I will still offer the traditional outdoor portraits as well, because there’s nothing quite like natural light shining on your dog as he frolics through a meadow. Having lights will also enable me to do more indoor events such as valentines day shoots (more info later this month) and Christmas portraits. Speaking of indoor events, that brings us to our next big thing…

lights

Yes, this is an Instagram photo. I’ve finally joined the bandwagon.

2. Rescues. Last year LGraveline Photography put in over 40 hours of shooting to help out local pet rescues. This includes taking photos of pets for adoption, promo material for websites and advertising, and events to help raise money. This year I hope to exceed that, I had so much fun hanging out with the different rescues and their wonderful volunteers. I have two rescues that I will be working with on a regular basis (Sit With Me and Under My Wing Pug Rescue) but if you own or volunteer for another rescue don’t let that stop you from asking me if I want to help out, I’ll probably say yes! I plan to add a section onto my website with more info on how to book for rescue events.

3. The website is long overdue for some updated photos. I will be dividing the “Pet Portraits” section as my portfolio is growing, and adding some links which will include fellow photographers, inspirational photographers, and other artists that I think are pretty awesome.

4. Last but not least, I plan on taking time each month to do some personal shoots. There are a lot of ideas in my head that I would like to get out on camera, and some of them don’t even involve pets! I know! I shoot people too! I mean, I ‘shoot’ people of course, I don’t shoot them.. and I guess there will be horses in the photos so they are not entirely ‘non-pet’ photos. Ah well, it was worth a try!

Thanks for reading, that’s the most I’ve typed all year! (Har har.. “New Years” jokes). I’ll leave you with these photos of adorable adoptable pugs that I photographed this morning. Contact UMW Pug Rescue for more information,

Joulian01WEB

Emile02WEB

About lyndagraveline

Ottawa based professional pet photographer, I photograph everything from horses, dogs & cats to wild & exotic animals. Available for commercial shoots as well, see website for more details. www.LGravelinePhotography.com
This entry was posted in Rescue and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

